So what are chakras, why do they matter and how are we meant to keep them in alignment?

Chakras are energy centres in the body and were first mentioned in the Vedas which are ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating from 1500-1000BC. The Vedas are the earliest Sanskrit literary records and the most ancient scriptures of Hinduism.

Chakra means wheel and refers to energy points throughout the body which are located along the spine, through the neck and to the crown of your head; they are thought to be like spinning discs of energy which should stay open and aligned to keep the body in optimal health and balance.
There are seven main chakras, each one with a differing corresponding colour, name and health focus which has an impact on your physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual states of being and influence all areas of your life. Within each chakra is prana which is the ultimate healing energy, when each chakra is open and aligned it allows this energy to flow through them.

So what are the seven chakras?

The Root Chakra   located at the base of the spine

When in balance it is sturdy, stabilising and supportive, both physically and emotionally.

When it is blocked it can result in anxieties and feelings of insecurity

Physically it is associated with problems in the colon, bladder or lower back, feet and leg issues

Mantra: LAM

Affirmation: I am safe, I am stable, I am secure

The Sacral Chakra – located above the pubic bone and below the navel

This chakra is associated with our emotions, passions and pleasures, it is considered the creative and sexual energy centre of the body.

When in alignment you feel friendly, passionate and fulfilled whilst eliciting feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure and joy.

Emotionally it is connected with feelings of self-worth and physically associated with sexual organs, urinary tract and the lower back

Mantra: VAM

Affirmation: I use my energy for creative expression

The Solar Plexus Chakra – located from the navel to the ribcage

When in balance you are confident, have high self-esteem and have a great sense of personal power.

When blocked it can leave you with difficulties in making decisions and high anxiety.

Physically it is associated with the digestive system

Mantra: RAM

Affirmation: I am empowered to live my best life

The Heart Chakra – located in the heart centre

As the middle point of the seven chakras it is the bridge between our upper and lower chakras, where the physical and the spiritual meet. It represents our ability to love and connect with others and when balanced love and compassion flows freely from and towards you

When out of alignment it can lead to feelings of loneliness, insecurity and isolation alongside those of jealousy, anger and grief

Physically it is associated with the heart and lungs

Mantra: YAM

Affirmation: I feel compassion for myself and others

The Throat Chakra – located at the throat

This is connected to our ability to communicate verbally with others. When in alignment you will be able to clearly communicate your truth with the knowledge you are being listed to, whilst compassionately listening to others.

Blocks can be seen through dominating conversations, fear of judgement by others, speaking without thinking and also being unable to speak your own truth.

This is the first of the spiritual chakras, the lower ones manifest in more physical ways

Mantra: HAM

Affirmation: I speak with authenticity, grace and courage

The Third Eye Chakra –located between the eyebrows

Connected to our intuition and your ability to listen to it, when in balance your third eye will allow you to see through the illusions of the world to see a clear truthful picture whilst also harnessing your imagination

When blocked you may have trouble trusting your intuition. If your lower chakras are out of alignment (root, sacral and solar plexus), your third eye will likely also be

Mantra: SHAM

Affirmation: I see my life’s purpose clearly

The Crown Chakra – located at the very top of the head

Said to be the chakra of enlightenment it connects us to the spiritual world, our higher selves and the divine

When open it brings bliss but to do so all other chakras must be in alignment. It is typically something which has to be harnessed through specific yogic or meditative exercises but through daily  practices of meditation, prayer, silence, gratitude etc it can give you a taste of spiritual connection

Mantra: OM

Affirmation: I experience unity with all things